Record town council success for Greens

7 May 2017

The Green Party entered the 2017 town and parish council campaign with just one councillor, but ended Thursday night with a total of seven. In Oswestry Councillor Duncan Kerr was joined by Barry Edwards, Olly Rose, Nikki Hughes and Mike Isherwood making a total of five Green councillors on Oswestry Town Council. Duncan Kerr’s own vote increased by 34% compared with 2013. Elsewhere in Shropshire Julian Dean was elected as the first ever Green on Shrewsbury Town Council, while Edward Goff became Whittington Parish Council’s first Green councillor. Altogether 4731 votes were cast for Green town and parish council candidates in Shropshire.

National News

Twitter @ShropsGreens

Find us on social media

Shropshire Greens Shropshire Greens Facebook page
Oswestry Greens
Shrewsbury Greens

Sign up for updates

Find out more